Critique – Lumiere Films

by Mike Creedon

If there is one thing I took away from the Lumiere film project, it is the importance of the angles of your shots.  My film (“Making the Mustache”) needed a strong angle to make a visually powerful and entertaining Lumiere.  I spent about 20 minutes trying to set up the shot, mostly because of the awkwardness of the environment and the clunkiness of the camera.  The sink had so many curves that it was nearly impossible to set up in an area that would stay still.  I also didn’t have a tripod (I don’t think one would’ve helped too much anyways), so I had to employ tape to make the camera in my phone stay in place.

Overall, I am happy with the positioning of the shot but not the outcome.  Sadly, my hand blocked the view of the razor for the most part.  There wasn’t the dramatic effect of the razor running itself against skin.  Also, I think lighting could’ve been used in a slightly more effective way.  If I had been able to set up the camera to capture the light that was above my head, some nice overexposure could’ve occurred.  I believe that would’ve been a very nice contrast to the very plain shaving action.

For different point of views, I could’ve taped the camera to the bathroom mirror.  I think this would’ve been visually entertaining, as the viewer now is placed in the situation as the mirror.  It would appear I was making direct eye contact with them/the camera, when I’m really just looking at the mirror.  Sadly, we only had one real chance to film this scene, it just didn’t turn out as we had hoped.

In class, I was very nervous to show my Lumiere film.  First of all, I was the star of it.  It’s hard enough to show a piece of work that is your own, never mind something you are also the focus of.  I really had no expectations for the reaction of the audience.  Disgust, laughter, confusion; any of those would’ve been acceptable to me.

My favorite in class Lumiere film was Megan and Madelyn’s “Street Pigeons”.  The constant movement and various background happenings kept me interested in the film throughout.  It met the needs of being silent, still, and apparently “natural”.  Although the thrower of the seeds isn’t seen, the reactions we see are all very natural.  The personality of the pigeons and pedestrians in the background are all the more noticeable without any sound.  The slight Dutch angle was effective in my opinion, as it also added the textural influence of the ground and the light reflecting off of it.

If I was to improve the film, I’d like to see the Dutch angle go even further (an issue that was expressed by many in class).  I’m unsure of whether or not I’d like to see who is actually throwing the seeds.  Despite this adding a new character and set of actions to the film, the mystery is somewhat enthralling.

The Lumiere film project was very effective, in my opinion.  It taught me the importance of setting up your shots and using light effectively.  It also showed how difficult it can be to keep someone’s attention for a minute straight with a still scene and no sound.  Although I am not a convert to the Lumiere way and their manifesto, I see and appreciate the importance and creativity within their work.